Visita Iglesia

Since its Holy Week most of the people I know are preoccupied with so many “gala plans” and it is something that I am slightly jealous of. Why? Because I have work. As much as I wanted to take a days off, like seriously being far from my pc and not facing codes and letters but I can’t because the calendar’s too full and I’m pretty sure that my request won’t be granted. Anyways, the good side of having work on a legal holiday is the fact that we are given free food and of course the salary variations. But if I were to choose between rest and the salary – I would trade the latter to have those 4 days off.

What would I do then if I will have those 4 days off work? I will slack my body off completely in my bed and spend quality time with my family, my pet, and oh! not to mention doing all of my pending responsibilities (aside from missing so many blog posts) but more on reading pending books and movies. I miss being a couch potato. HAHAHA.

In connection to Holy Week, church visit is really something that most of the people are looking forward to. So what is Visita Iglesia?  The Visita Iglesia (Church Visit) is a Holy Week practice where devotees visit and pray in at least 7 separate churches. It can be done in one day, usually on Maundy Thursday, or it can take days until before Easter Sunday if churches are far apart. Initially, the purpose of this Holy Week practice was to honor the Blessed Sacrament, when Jesus established the Sacrament of the Eucharist. It then morphed into a form of pilgrimage and meditation for the Holy Week, and also a form of seeking penance for sins. Superstition even has it that wishes would be granted upon completion of a Visita Iglesia. Stations of the Cross may also be held during church visits. Devotees either visit 14 churches for each of the 14 Stations of the Cross, or pray two stations in each of the 7 churches.

And this year’s Visita Iglesia, our team decided to visit 7 churches located in the heart of the city. In short, the distance between the selected churches is not so far from each other. The reason for this is because we must save time (again because we still have to go to work). This will be my second time doing Visita Iglesia with my team. Though this time we were only 8 compared to last time that almost all of the team members joined forces to really make our first ever church visit a remarkable one, we still continued with the plan.

Right after work, around 6:30 AM, my teammates and I decided to eat breakfast first while waiting for our supervisor. Good thing Tatay Gucci (one of my teammate whom I treat as “tatay” which means father) brought Eve, his Ford Everest that made our church visit smooth – sailing. It was almost 8 in the morning when we headed to the first church. The sun was so up with a 32 ºC temperature on a Thursday morning is no joke! The street looks so wide and empty – not so many cars and public utility jeepneys roaming round and round. I wish it’s always like that.  So these are the churches that we visited and some selfies that we took while we were in the car.

C360_2016-03-24-22-49-59-243

Credits to Tatay Gucci for taking this picture. This is inside the Archdiocesan Shrine of Blessed Pedro Calungsod.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Visita Iglesia

Leave a Reply

